– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us | [ FR ]
International Committee for Weights and Measures (CIPM)
Outcomes from the CIPM's most recent meetings:
  • 107
  • June 2018
  • 106
  • October 2017
  • 105
  • October 2016
  • 104(II)
  • October 2015
  • 104(I)
  • March 2015
  • 103(II)
  • November 2014
    [ See meeting reports ]

    in French: Comité international des poids et mesures

    Standing Sub-Committees:

      CIPM Sub-Committee for Strategy
      CIPM Sub-Committee on Finance
      Pension Fund Advisory Board
      CIPM Sub-Committee on the BIPM Pension and Provident Fund and Health Insurance
    [This group was closed by the CIPM in October 2015.]

    ad hocWorking and Task Groups:

      CIPM ad hoc Working Group on Conditions of Employment
      CIPM Task Group for Promotion of the SI
      CIPM ad hoc Working Group on Implementing the Recommendations from the Review of the CIPM MRA
    [Having completed its mission, this group was closed by the CIPM in June 2018.]
      CIPM ad hoc Working Group on Membership
    [Having completed its mission, this group was closed by the CIPM in March 2015.]

    The principal task of the CIPM is to promote world-wide uniformity in units of measurement and it does this by direct action or by submitting draft resolutions to the General Conference (CGPM).

    Duties of the CIPM include the responsibility to:

    The CIPM is made up of eighteen individuals, each of a different nationality. The presidents of the Consultative Committees are appointed by, and are normally members of, the CIPM.

    The CIPM meets every year (since 2011 in two sessions per year) and, among other matters, discusses reports presented to it by its Consultative Committees. Reports of the meetings of the CGPM, the CIPM, and all the Consultative Committees, are published by the BIPM.

    The CIPM is made up of eighteen individuals, each of a different nationality.

    CIPM bureau members:

    Date of provisional election
    by the CIPM
    Most recent (re)election
    by the CGPM
    President Dr B. Inglis (Australia)7 Aug. 2000 2014
    Secretary Dr J. McLaren (Canada) 6 March 2006 2014
    Vice-President Dr W.E. May (United States of America) 9 June 2008 2014
    Vice-President Prof. J. Ullrich (Germany)15 May 2013 2018

    Other CIPM members:

    Dr F. Bulygin (Russian Federation) (CGPM, 2014) 2018
    Dr M. Buzoianu (Romania) 2014
    Dr I. Castelazo (Mexico) (CGPM, 2014) 2018
    Dr Y. Duan (People's Republic of China)8 March 2010 2018
    Mr L. Érard (France)13 Sept. 2004 2014
    Dr D.-I. Kang (Republic of Korea)12 Dec. 2013 2014
    Dr H. Laiz (Argentina)7 Dec. 2016 2018
    Dr T. Liew (Singapore) (CGPM, 2014) 2018
    Dr W. Louw (South Africa) 15 May 2013 2018
    Dr M.L. Rastello (Italy)7 Dec. 2016 2018
    Dr P. Richard (Switzerland) (CGPM, 2014) 2018
    Dr G. Rietveld (Netherlands) (CGPM, 2014) 2018
    Dr M. Sené (United Kingdom)7 Dec. 2016 2018
    Dr T. Usuda (Japan) 1 July 2012 2018

    ex officio Dr M.J.T. Milton (United Kingdom), Director of the BIPM

    Members elected by the CGPM in 2018, due to take office in March 2019:

    Dr D. del Campo Maldonado (Spain) 2018
    Dr N. Dimarcq (France) 2018
    Dr P. Neyezhmakov (Ukraine) 2018
    Dr J. Olthoff (United States of America) 2018
    Dr S.-R. Park (Republic of Korea) 2018
    Dr A. Steele (Canada) 2018

    See also: