– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us
CCTF Working Group on Time Scale Algorithms (CCTF-WG-ALGO)

Terms of reference

The objectives of the CCTF WG-ALGO are:

  1. to promote and support the development and improvement of the mathematical algorithms for the treatment of Time and Frequency measures used to establish a time scale, to characterize clock behaviour, or to any other applications that may arise;
  2. to help the dissemination of the developed algorithms and tools for allowing their correct use in Time and Frequency metrology;
  3. to support the modernization and the improvement, whenever necessary, of the TAI algorithm,
  4. to assist developing or new laboratories in the correct understanding and implementation of the Time and Frequency algorithms;
  5. to support the correct understanding and application of time algorithms also in other fields (e.g. navigation, telecommunication) where they may be necessary;
  6. to establish temporary ad hoc study groups to analyse some specific problems, whenever necessary; these study groups should report to the working group;
  7. to organize the "Time Scale Algorithm Symposium" as a means to support the scientific community to identify new needs, to devise, develop, and disseminate algorithms.
September 2012


  • Dr Yuko Hanado  (NICT)


  • Dr Gianna Panfilo  (BIPM)


  • representatives of the laboratories contributing to TAI with expertise or interest in algorithms;
  • the individual responsible for TAI at the BIPM;
  • the members of the BIPM Time Department devoted to the TAI algorithm, one of them acting as the WG secretary;
  • members of other organizations or institutions interested in developing and using time algorithms.

Contact persons:

  • Mr Laurent-Guy Bernier (METAS)
  • Dr Michael Coleman (U.S. NRL)
  • Dr Paul Koppang (USNO)
  • Dr Judah Levine (NIST)
  • Dr Shinn-Yan Lin (TL)
  • Mr Carsten Rieck (RISE)
  • Dr Daniele Rovera (LNE-SYRTE)
  • Dr Giovanna Signorile (INRIM)
  • Dr Patrizia Tavella (BIPM)

  CCTF: Upcoming meetings
26–30 October 2020: First session (online) of the 22nd meeting of the CCTF and related meetings (online)
8–12 March 2021: Second session of the 22nd meeting of the CCTF and related meetings
27 June to 1 July 2022: 23rd meeting of the CCTF and related meetings

CCTF summary
General information
CCTF members
Strategy documents
CCTF working groups
CCTF publications and bibliography
Photographs of the CCTF
Open documents
CCTF documents
WG-ALGO documents
WGATFT documents
WGFS documents
WGGNSS documents
WGMRA documents
WGPSFS documents
WGTAI documents
WGTWSTFT documents
BIPM Workshop on Advanced Time & Frequency Transfer Techniques 2011