– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us
Consultative Committee for Time and Frequency (CCTF)
The Consultative Committee for the Definition of the Second (CCDS) was set up in 1956. Its name was changed to Consultative Committee for Time and Frequency (CCTF) by the CIPM in 1997.

Present activities concern matters related to the definition and realization of the second, establishment and diffusion of International Atomic Time (TAI) and Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), and advice to the CIPM on matters related to time and time scales.
Dr N. Dimarcq
Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur
Executive Secretary:
Dr P. Tavella
Bureau international des poids et mesures
President:    Dr N. Dimarcq
Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur
Executive Secretary:    Dr P. Tavella
Bureau international des poids et mesures
  • All-Russian Scientific Research Institute of Physical Technical Measurements, Rosstandart [VNIIFTRI], Moscow
  • Central Office of Measures [GUM], Warsaw
  • Centro Nacional de Metrología [CENAM], Querétaro
  • CSIR National Physical Laboratory of India [NPLI], New Delhi
  • Federal Institute of Metrology METAS [METAS], Bern-Wabern
  • Istituto Nazionale di Ricerca Metrologica [INRIM], Turin
  • Korea Research Institute of Standards and Science [KRISS], Daejeon
  • National Institute of Information and Communications Technology [NICT], Tokyo
  • National Institute of Metrology [NIM], Beijing
  • National Institute of Standards and Technology, United States Department of Commerce [NIST], Gaithersburg
  • National Measurement Institute, Australia [NMIA], Lindfield
  • National Metrology Institute of Japan, AIST [NMIJ/AIST], Tsukuba
  • National Metrology Institute of South Africa [NMISA], Pretoria
  • National Metrology Institute of Turkey [UME], Gebze-Kocaeli
  • National Physical Laboratory [NPL], Teddington
  • National Physical Laboratory of Israel [INPL], Jerusalem
  • National Research Council of Canada [NRC], Ottawa
  • Observatoire de Paris/Systèmes de Référence Temps-Espace [LNE-SYRTE], Paris
  • Observatoire Royal de Belgique [ORB], Brussels
  • Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt [PTB], Braunschweig
  • Real Instituto y Observatorio de la Armada [ROA], Cadiz
  • RISE Research Institutes of Sweden AB [RISE], Borås
  • Space Research Centre of Polish Academy of Sciences [SRC], Warsaw
  • Technical University of Graz [TUG], Graz
  • U.S. Naval Observatory [USNO], Washington D.C.
  • VSL B.V. [VSL], Delft
  • Official observer(s):   
  • Agency for Science, Technology and Research [NMC, A*STAR], Singapore
  • Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Technology, Metrology Institute [MIRS], Celje
  • Observatório Nacional/Divisão Serviço da Hora [ON/DSHO], Rio de Janeiro
  • Telecommunication Laboratories, ChungHwa Telecom Co. Ltd [TL], Taoyuan City
  • Note:

      The Director of the BIPM is a member, ex officio, of all Consultative Committees.
      Next meetings:
    26–30 October 2020: 22nd meeting of the CCTF and related meetings